Exercise, Poison Ivy, and Slavery Rage


I hope you’re sitting for this.  I exercised today.  And I don’t mean my strenuous walk between all the way across campus in under ten minutes or all the way back to where my car was parked after school, though that was pretty good cardio.  No, I did moderately strenuous muscular exercises utilizing my arm, legs, and back (and other muscles that will probably make life a little hellish tomorrow for forgetting I used them) for about an hour.  I will be very sore tomorrow, but I’m going to do it again because we didn’t finish.

It’s funny how easy it is to forget that a workout can happen anywhere.  It isn’t confined to a gym or a studio or a yoga mat.  I weeded the flower bed and cleared out most of the old mulch, shoveling it into the wheelbarrow.  Buddy helped me with this operation because a good hunk of our tax refund is going into some serious yard work.  I wish we could fix the backyard, but that’s a project for Yard Crashers.  And the landscaper version of Superman.  Or maybe Poison Ivy, just to keep things interesting.

We also tried again with the salmon, with slightly better results.  We marinated the salmon in soy sauce and ginger, then baked it (400°F for 12 min).  Some fresh tomato and avocado went on top when it was done and we had steamed broccoli on the side.  It was pretty good.

In other news, my short story got third place for the school literary magazine.  So I just have two people to take out, er, congratulate.  The story was published here first, so if you haven’t read it yet, check out https://ithilen.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/modern-faerie-tale/.

Also, we’re reading a black feminist vampire book (Fledgling by Octavia Butler) in my vampire class and abolitionist literature in my lit survey class.  So if there is an outpouring of slavery rage, I’m sorry.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ramblings

Leave a Reply

