Back in the Habit.


Tomorrow is the first day of the rest of my summer.  I’ve been slouching pretty hard the last two and a half months, but I have run out of excuses to put things off.  Time to get shiz done.

I just finished up a two-week road trip with my ever-adorable husband.  My car now has over 120,000 miles on it and a brand new chip in the windshield.  I have dozens of food pictures on my phone that I need to add to the food blog.  There is a mountain of finally clean clothes to fold.  I have a stack of used books awaiting the end of Discworld.  I must start walking again (made a lot of unhealthy food choices, mostly involving duck, bacon, and/or BBQ => don’t judge me).  I have to go yell at the Registrar a little and ascertain whether I can actually graduate this term with a major and a minor.  Gotta clean the house to within an inch of its life (lingering effect of staying in other people’s’ homes).  Gotta make meatballs and bake bacon and figure out meals for this month.

Funny thing about vacations (not funny haha).  I just spent two weeks trapped in a car with my favorite person in the world, laughing our way through Christopher Moore audio books and seeing family, friends, and battle buddies.  We ate great food, visited amazing breweries, saw the Falling Water house, the Henry Doorly Zoo, and the Ringley Bros and Barnum & Bailey Circus.  We drove three hours to wait four and a half hours for BBQ and it was worth every second.  At the end of two weeks, we were exhausted, sore from sitting in the car and sleeping in so many different beds (only one hotel => yay, friends with guest beds!).  Bone weary and home sick for our cats and our kitchen and our own bed.  This is how I know it was a successful vacation.  Two weeks were almost too long of an adventure at the end.

It would be too easy to give in to the tired, I-deserve-a-break feeling.  When the alarm goes off tomorrow (technically later today), I’m going to punch deserve in the throat.  Probably.  Look out summer!  I’m coming to get you!!!

Leave a comment

15AM00000012011 · 01:09

Leave a Reply

