Super, Awesome Day


Since yesterday’s post was so moody, today I’m just going to tell you about my awesome day.

My walk went really well.  I pushed myself, getting all the way to the end of the road with about 10 seconds to go and then getting back to my house with about 5 seconds to go (I set my watch for 30 min and turn around when the alarm goes off, unless I hit the end of the road).  That’s 4.2 miles in just under an hour.  My hips, knees, and feet are feeling it right now, but I have the weekend for recovery.  Then I did five sets of my muscular work out and only had to call myself a sissy once.

After that (and a shower and breakfast), I drove across the water to visit with a friend I haven’t seen in a long time.  We had a great time catching up over very good coffee.  Then we went outside so I could meet her gorgeous horse and pick blueberries in her yard.  It was a very successful endeavor, though about 10 min in fully understood why blueberries are so expensive.

blueberries

I also got to hang out with her little boys and meet a sweet puppy.

When I got home, I had lunch and sat still all of 20 min before I had to do something.  The other option was falling asleep and losing the afternoon, because I don’t do 20 min naps.

I drove to the Commissary to pickup a few necessary items to use up some of those blueberries.  When I got home, I mixed up the custard for my lemon ice cream and set about making lemon blueberry cupcakes from a bread recipe from Pinterest.  I’m getting better at reading recipes so I have far fewer Pinterest Fails.  Unless I’m dealing with something completely foreign to my experience (“Is coronation chicken supposed to taste that gross?  I have no idea.”).

lemon blueberry cupcake

I asked Buddy to try one and tell me if it needed the lemon glaze the recipe calls for.  He said they were good, but the glaze would make them really good.  But then I would have to call them cupcakes.  And that’s when I yelled at him that of course they were cupcakes and frosting is not what makes cupcakes different from muffins and… and… and… then I calmed down.

After the cupcakes were done, I tried to read and started nodding off after a dozen pages.  So up I got to start pitting cherries (I used three different methods before I settled on pushing the pit out with the wide end of a chop stick => halving was too slow, paperclip didn’t work at all, Pinterest).  With all the cherries juice spatter, I was starting to feel like Dexter.

By the time Buddy got home from the gym (around 7 pm), I was ready to make a cherry wine ice cream sauce.  The ingredients were a tad unusual, but they all came together to make a very complex, fruity sauce.  I’m very pleased with it.

Long story short, I did my work out, exceeding my achievements this week.  I picked blueberries, made two new successful recipes, and I didn’t nap once.  This is unheard of.  Super, awesome day.

1 Comment

Filed under Ramblings

One response to “Super, Awesome Day

  1. Wait, wait, wait…hold the phone…cherry wine ice cream sauce???? Please send me some!!!

Leave a Reply

