Merry Christmas, Ya Filthy Animals!


I just want everyone to know that I am boycotting Starbucks.  Just as I have been since I discovered Dunkin Donuts.  The design of the cups does not in any way change the fact that they are over-priced and pretentious.  Besides which, I never expected the evil corporation selling me my syrupy, pompous cup o’ Joe to celebrate a Christian-appropriated pagan holiday.

And also, I dislike the phrase “keep the Christ in Christmas.”  If you mean that we should keep the spirit of love and forgiveness taught by Christ during a time when most of the country is focused on buying as much stuff as their credit cards will allow, then God bless you.  If you mean that it’s a Christian holiday and by not saying Merry Christmas people are persecuting Christians, I’ll ask you to do some reading into the history of the season (especially where a majority of the ‘Christmas’ symbols come from, like Christmas trees and Santa “Coca Cola” Claus) and look up the definition of persecution.   Let me know when Starbucks starts lighting Christians on fire to light its gardens.

1 Comment

Filed under Misc Short Stories

One response to “Merry Christmas, Ya Filthy Animals!

Leave a Reply

