Oh Darn


I didn’t go on my walk this morning.  Oh darn.

Some of you might have noticed that I was up until around 5am writing a story.  I started that story at about 1:30.  Sunday was a migraine day.  It started as metallic scrapings when I woke up and only got worse as the day went on.  By the time we were eating dinner, I was wearing a hood to shade my eyes from the house lights.  I had made some surprisingly bland tomato soup (I think I should have cooked it longer in the crockpot and leaving out the carrots was a mistake).  The grilled cheese sandwiches went a long way to making dinner a success, though.  After dinner, I finally took some migraine meds, several hours too late for it to do any good.  Then I spent several hours trying to sleep.  I doused my temples in peppermint oil and when my phone started dying from too much Sudoku, I went into total darkness mode.  It didn’t help.  (And before you say it, I know electronic lights like phone screens are supposed to not only keep me awake but also make a migraine worse.  I have trained myself to fall asleep to Sudoku.  It is my nightly routine.  It is also the only thing I can do with a migraine that distracts from the pain.  Reading and crochet and TV don’t work.)

After tossing and turning for over an hour, I got up and wrote a story that had been percolating for a few days.  It was very autobiographical in origin and I found describing migraines while in the throws of one to be a very useful exercise.  When I finished, I was a bit sleepy and the edge of the migraine was easing.  I went to bed and got on my phone again.  I’m an addict, what can I say?  So I saw that David Bowie had died and I felt sad.  I didn’t even know he was sick.  Strange how Facebook is my news source now.  It is often a reminder of how awful a friend I am, since I miss the big life happenings of people I care about only because there wasn’t a post in my notifications.

Well, my alarm went off about 3 hours later and I rolled over and unceremoniously turned it off, like I have the entire last year.  Old habits die hard.  I worked myself awake, though, chatting with Buddy as he got ready for work.  I thought, no migraine so I should still go walk.  But the post-migraine yuck happened.  If I hit this stage, it’s either nausea or indigestion/diarrhea, which you didn’t want to know, but that is why I did not go on my walk.  I just had to lay down and drink water and come down from the yuck.  Which I did.  I didn’t go back to sleep, which is something.

Today was also my first day back at work.  Yay.  Before I headed out, I finished the mason jar cozies that will be my first offering on Etsy.  I’m still debating on whether to sell them as a set or individually.  I’m hoping I can do both options.  I just have to take some impressive photos and post them.  Hooray.  Tomorrow is a long day, with a crochet class in the morning and work in the afternoon.  Hoping I can get in the swing of things this week.  Just wasn’t a very good start.

Oh, if you read my story and liked it, please leave your comments.  What you liked, what didn’t work, any weird wording or bits that didn’t make sense.  I was writing in the early hours.  Buddy thinks I can flesh it into a book, but I’m just hoping to manage a good short story at this point.  Share it with your friends, too.

 

That’s my 500 wds.  Peace.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Ramblings

Leave a Reply

