Weekend Shenanigans


Saturday, I made Cincinnati Chili and cinnamon rolls.

If you aren’t from the Midwest, this might make no sense to you.  But it is such a normal flavor combination that it is a standard on school lunch menus.  The cinnamon rolls were excellent (I used Alton Brown’s overnight cinnamon roll recipe), but the chili was a bit soupy for my tastes.  When I perfect the recipe, it will show up on my other blog.

Making the rolls was an adventure of itself.  Since we went out for dinner Friday night, I didn’t start the rolls until almost 8 and they have a 3 hr rise before they get rolled and put in the fridge for the night.  So I made the dough and fiddled around for the interim, doing dishes and cleaning up.  Normally, I would use that time to make the filling but since it was a new recipe and I have a notoriously bad time with yeast doughs not rising like they’re supposed to, I thought I would wait until the 3 hrs were up and if the dough hadn’t risen I could just scrap the rolls entirely without wasting more ingredients.  This I did and the dough rose beautifully into a puffy pillow of aromatic happiness.  So I went to make the filling and discovered that I only had 2 of the 8 ounces of brown sugar I needed.  Because I forgot to check before we went grocery shopping, even though I did look in my baking cabinet to make sure I had all my usual ingredients.  Thus, I had to go in and tell Buddy at 12:30 am that I was going to the store for brown sugar and he should not be alarmed by the garage door opening while he slept.

But the rolls were sooooo worth the trip.  Tender almost to the point of gooey, but not undercooked.  And the cream cheese frosting was so delicious that my guests took home extra.  Actually, my guests took home extra of everything.  Buddy was at a beer tasting, so I had some school buddies come over to watch the last Star Trek movie (TOS VI: Undiscovered Country).  We ate chili and laughed raucously at bad acting, ridiculous special effects, and hokey plot twists.  We also felt really uncomfortable during the Vulcan mind rape.  Very awkward.

Side note:  I have seen two posts online, lists of “things you didn’t know about famous characters,” concerning Spock’s ancestry.  In one episode and in Star Trek VI, he claims an ancestor of his said once you eliminate the impossible solutions, the one that is left, however improbable, is correct (I can’t recall the exact quote, but that’s pretty much it).  This is seen as evidence that Spock is a descendent of Sherlock Holmes.  Now, this is just silly.  Even though they are both fictional characters, Holmes is a fictional character within the Star Trek universe, if we assume that Star Trek is the future based on early 1960s present.  This quote actually means that Spock is descended from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, the author of Sherlock Holmes and therefore the originator of the quote.  Come on, people.  Stop being Watson.

That was Saturday and it was awesome.  (We had a wonderful walk by the river in the morning.  It was nice and sunny, if a little windy, and there were some steep up-hills to get our heartrates up.)

Sunday was not so much.  Since he had Monday off for MLK Day, Buddy decided to drive up to PA to visit his brother.  I couldn’t go because I had work.  Which was a bummer because I really like his brother.  Still, sometimes it’s nice to visit family without outsiders, you know?  Anyway, Buddy left in the morning and I slept until it was time for me to get ready for work.  Which turned out to be about 15 min later than I should have because when I looked out the back door, it was snowing.  Now, I’m from the Midwest, where it’s more unusual for it NOT to snow in January, but Southerners (as they think they are here) cannot countenance snow.  They can’t drive in it, they don’t prep for it, and a single flake equals Armageddon.  We were just lucky it was the weekend.  It was that awful slushy snow that makes your tires slip all over the place if you aren’t in the ruts, too.  Bloody awful to drive in, but if you stay in the ruts and pay attention to how the road feels, it’s no big deal.  Well, people were feeling extra cautious, driving 10 miles under the speed limit the whole way to work.  And, hey, caution is absolutely fine with me.  Be careful.  Like I said, slushy roads are dangerous.  But it’s also dangerous to be driving way under the speed limit with your lights off in the passing lane.  Next time, kids, MOVE OVER AND LET THE ADULTS DRIVE.

And we were busy at work.  Not sure why, except it being a holiday weekend and perhaps some people thought they might get snowed in and run out of fabric or yarn or something.  Most everyone was nice, though, as usual.  And we did get done with all our clean up on time, though I would have loved to do a more thorough job in the fabrics (because I have issues).

Today was a lazy day.  No walk, because it’s a holiday and not because I just didn’t feel like it.  I finished a sweater I’ve been working on since the beginning of our holiday trip (27 Dec).  It was a series of 60 interlocking square motifs and several half/quarter motifs.  It took about 30 hrs (non-consecutively) to make the full motifs.  I used a light-weight yarn which actually wore the skin off the back of my finger because I was going so fast for so long (I didn’t want to fall asleep on the plane).  I actually crocheted a guard for my forefinger to protect it.  I think I finished the last motif our last day in NE, so 6 Jan.  I don’t remember when I got the finishing done.  Then I just had a MILLION threads to tuck in.  All this is why I won’t be selling apparel in my Etsy store.  It is far too time consuming and complicated.  Besides which, without someone to try it on, I can’t know if it is coming together properly (do I have to adjust for body length, are the armholes too small, does the collar lie flat…).

But I finished that and put some turkey leftovers in the crockpot for stock.  And then I decided to sit down and get my Etsy store up and running.  This meant registering my business with the Virginia tax people.  It was…not as hard as I thought it would be.  Very user friendly and informative.  I printed off lots of fun documents and I’m about 90% confident that I understand it all.

And now I own a business.  I have one product to sell so far and a lot of work to do making my site welcoming and all.  Most of me is pretty sure I’m not going to sell anything, but there is also a voice that is concerned I might pull a Penny and have 1000 requests for mason jar cozies by tomorrow.  The worst part is figuring out how much to charge for things.  Buddy asks me how much yarn I use for a project and I just don’t know.  There isn’t a way for me to measure as I go.  I need to make some charts and spreadsheets and do other adult-type things.  Tomorrow.  Right now, I need to put up stock and get to bed.

This is my store.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/JosYarnings

If you want to know what I make, I’ll be putting up more items over the next few days and you can always check my albums on Facebook.  Here’s hoping I sell enough stuff to get a tattoo.

In case you were wondering, I did get my Upwork (freelancing website) set up.  I just have to apply for stuff, get some proposals worked up, figure my rates and such.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ramblings

Leave a Reply

