Melancholy


Today was just another day.

I was almost late to Art again.  It doesn’t seem to matter how early or late my classes start.  I always start running late at this stage of the semester.  It would probably help if I didn’t stay up all night playing Sudoku or checking The Facebook or reading another book I’m not required to read.  But if I started going to sleep at a reasonable time, what would I have to complain about during the day?

In Vampire Film/Lit we watched Vampyr, a supremely creepy German Expressionist film from 1932.  It was awesome.

In Brit Myth, we discussed how one mustn’t refer to knights as loud-mouths, especially on the upcoming midterm.

Then I went to work, where one of the quasi-managers was losing his spit because he had been treated with the same disrespect that other employees deal with every day.  The boss was in a mood.  These things happen.  For some reason, while I might have fumed and raged and cried about the injustice of it all last week, today I was merely bemused.  There was a lot of cursing and swearing and threatening to quit from the peanut gallery today.  I hope they do all quit.  They need to get real full-time jobs rather than expecting to be paid more for doing the same work just because part-time doesn’t cover the rent.  And a negative work environment over a long time period is psychologically damaging.

Oh, I’m looking for work.  I would like a job where I can practice my writing and editing skills and will also get my foot in the door for book critique, etc.  I do not want a job where I have to answer phones, use math, or deal with customers (clients are a different animal all-together).  I am a hard worker, I have real-world experience, and I am comfortable bossing people around.I am okay with moving for this dream job, so long as I don’t have to go to New York or some other megatropolis.

So if any of the 20 of you now following me are hiring, and are willing to pay handsomely for the amount of awesome I bring to the table, let me know.

3 Comments

15PM000000102011 · 22:38

3 responses to “Melancholy

  1. ihavebetterthingstodo

    not like I haven’t invited you to work with me or anything… Math is done primarily by the associated companies we work with. You use your awesome personality to compare what they have to what we have and simply ask, “Which do you like better?” Then you get paid. I got $4k in December working about 10 hours… not 10 hrs/wk… just 10 hrs. Then all those whiners that can’t make their ends meet suddenly have extra money at the end of the month. Now they have nothing to whine about. Problem solved.

    • I had no idea you worked for a publishing house. What books has your company recently published? Are they currently looking for an inexperienced copy editor to intern for them?

  2. ihavebetterthingstodo

    and you don’t have to move…

Leave a comment